Gastronomy & Culture in Inland Provence

Aix, les Baux-de-Provence, Saint-Remy, Fontvieille

Relaxing Gourmet Break in the Heart of Provence.

From Aix-en-Provence, the cosmopolitan and historic capital of Provence, to the mountains and olive groves of the Alpilles, this short break promises a colourful and flavourful experience! You will discover the secrets of Aix-en-Provence with a guided stroll through the town’s ancient pedestrian lanes, sample regional specialities at hand-picked gastronomic restaurants and take part in cookery classes led by our culinary experts… Ideally located in the historic quarters of Aix and Saint-Rémy, your accommodation promises peaceful nights in the heart of Provence. A warm and friendly break perfect for recharging your batteries, topped with the fabulous flavours of Provence!

Price from €850 pp Based on 2 people in double room

Length 5 days / 4 nights

Availability Tailored break available from March to December.

Day 1

Introduction to the culture and history of Aix

You will enjoy a private tour of Aix-en-Provence with your guide and fascinating insight into the secrets of this ancient town. Your captivating guidewill regale you with a host of anecdotes, unveiling the many facets of this history-packed town (length 2 hrs, private tour).

In the evening, you will savour a gourmet dinner(3-course menu) at a restaurant near your accommodation. Night in Aix-en-Provencein a top-comfort double room in a fully-fitted apartment.

Day 2

Gourmet stroll from the market to the kitchen

Today, your personal Chef awaits you for a culinary discovery day! You will purchase the ingredients for your lunch at the Provencal market, before being driven to your host’s Provencal country house after stopping off at a vineyardand dairyto select wines and cheeses to pair with your lunch. During your cookery class, you are free to take part in preparing the various dishes before savouring your creationsaround a friendly table, in the garden of the property or indoors if the weather is very hot (length 7 hrs, shared activity – maximum 8 participants).

Dinner at the venue of your choice. Night in Aix-en-Provencein your fully-fitted apartment.

 

Day 3

Nature tour of the Alpilles

You will leave Aix for the AlpillesNature Reserveand its stunning mountains adorned with pines, oaks and garrigue. Perched on a rocky plateau amid this magnificent scenery, the village of Les Baux-de-Provence is an ideal base for exploring this unique area.

In the afternoon, self-guided tour of Saint-Rémy-de-Provence,the village that inspired the works of Vincent Van Gogh. Now a chic meeting place, highly-coveted by artists and celebrities alike, Saint-Rémy’s boulevards lined with plane trees, boutiques, cafés and restaurants make it a lively hub ideal for your last tour of the day.

Dinner at the hotel’s star-rated gastronomic restaurant.Night in Saint-Rémy-de-Provencein double room.

Day 4

Olive oil, from the mill to the plate

Your day begins with a visit to Fontvieille to discover one of the region’s must-dos: an ancient olive mill! Your hostesses and owners of the domain, Anne and Magali, will pamper you with a delightful tour and plenty of family anecdotes in this beautifully-authentic setting. The tour starts with the olive grove, where you will learn about the olive growing world, the history of the olive tree and its intriguing resources. The tour continues at the property’s Medieval and Provencal Chapeland Mill, where you will learn about the work of the miller, and ancient and modern oil making methods. You will also enjoy some advice on olive oil appreciation and a cookery class on the olive oil theme.

Dinner at venue of your choice. Night in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence in double room.

Day 5

End of stay

You will enjoy a last breakfast in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence before heading to Marseille if you have chosen to tour the Mediterranean coast. Your stay in beautiful inland Provence ends here. See you again soon!

 

the price includes

Double room accommodation at a charming B&B or top-comfort residential hotel
Breakfasts from Day 1 to Day 5
Gastronomic dinners on Day 1 and Day 3
Gastronomic experiences (lunches included) and cultural activities mentioned in the programme
Private or shared guide according to activity (transport included if necessary)

does not include

Lunches and dinners at venues of your choice
Transport (except as necessary for activities)
Self-guided tours, even if mentioned in the programme
Drinks, souvenirs, extras and other personal expenses
All services not mentioned in the programme

contact

So Provence, So Alps! leads you on a voyage far from the madding crowds into discreet Provence, filled with hilltop villages, lavender and beautiful mountains. You will enjoy privileged encounters with Provence's most fervent lovers of local gastronomy, oenology, outdoor sports, well-being and even astronomy.
If you would like to delve further into Provence and the Mediterranean, we also offer tailored tour experiences throughout southeastern France (Provence - Alpes du Sud - Côte-d'Azur).
Sunshine awaits you... Simply follow the sound of the chirping cicadas!


Contact us

Newsletter!

Du producteur à l’assiette

Aix, les Baux-de-Provence, Saint-Remy, Fontvieille

Séjour 5 jours / 4 nuits gourmet et confort au cœur de la Provence.

Depuis Aix-en-Provence, ville interculturelle et capitale historique de la Provence, jusqu’aux douces courbes des monts des Alpilles et leurs champs d’oliviers, venez partager avec vos hôtes un séjour haut en couleurs et en douceurs ! Découvrez avec vos guides locaux les secrets d’Aix-en-Provence au travers de ses ruelles piétonnes et ses marchés, dégustez les spécialités régionales dans les restaurants gastronomiques sélectionnés et participez à des cours de cuisine directement chez nos experts culinaires… Les hébergements, idéalement localisés dans les centres historiques d’Aix et de Saint-Rémy, seront les garants de nuits confortables en plein cœur de la Provence.

Découvertes sensorielles, convivialité et bien-être assurés !

Prix à partir de 850 euros / personne Sur la base de 2 personnes en chambre double

Durée 5 jours / 4 nuits

Disponibilité séjour disponible sur-mesure de mars à décembre 2019.

Jour 1

Introduction culturelle et historique à Aix-en-Provence

C’est à Aix-en-Provence que votre guide vous donne rendez-vous pour une visite privée durant laquelle les secrets de la ville vous seront révélés. A travers des anecdotes contées par un guide passionné, vous découvrirez sous un angle nouveau cette ville remplie d’histoire… (durée de l’activité : 2h, activité privative).

Le soir vous dégustez un dîner gourmet dans un restaurant proche de votre hébergement (menu 3 plats). Nuit à Aix-en-Provence en chambre double confort dans un appartement équipé.

Jour 2

Itinérance gourmande du marché à la cuisine de votre hôte

Aujourd’hui votre expert gastronome vous attend pour une journée de découvertes culinaires ! Au marché provençal, vous ferez ensemble quelques achats pour la réalisation du repas du midi. Vous serez ensuite accompagnés au mas provençal de votre hôte après vous être arrêtés dans un vignoble et à la fromagerie pour sélectionner les vins et fromages en adéquation avec le déjeuner. Durant l’atelier de cuisine, vous participez selon vos envies à la réalisation des recettes proposées. Vient ensuite le moment le plus intéressant : la dégustation de vos créations autour d’une table conviviale, dans le jardin de la propriété ou à l’intérieur pour plus de fraicheur (durée de l’activité : 7h, activité partagée (maximum 8 participants).

Jour 3

Découverte nature des Alpilles

Vous quittez Aix et vous dirigez vers le Parc Naturel des Alpilles en découvrant ses montagnes couvertes de garrigue, de forêts de pins et de chênes. Perché sur un plateau rocheux et entouré de ce magnifique paysage, Les Baux-de-Provence est une base idéale pour découvrir cette région unique.

Dans l’après-midi, visitez librement Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, le village qui a inspiré les œuvres du célèbre peintre Vincent Van Gogh. Devenu très chic et très prisé des artistes et des personnalités, ce charmant village avec ses boulevards bordés de platanes, ses boutiques, ses cafés et restaurants, reste un village très vivant… idéal pour cette fin de journée !

Dîner au restaurant gastronomique étoilé de l’hôtel. Nuit à Saint-Rémy-de-Provence en chambre double.

Jour 4

Les douceurs de l’huile d’olive, du moulin à l’assiette

Vous commencez la journée en prenant la direction de Fontvieille pour découvrir un lieu incontournable : le moulin à huile ! Anne et Magali, vos hôtesses et propriétaires du domaine, vous proposent une visite de qualité dans ce cadre privilégié. Vous y découvrirez authenticité et anecdotes familiales.

La découverte débute dans le verger d’oliviers, où l’on vous expliquera le monde oléicole, l’Histoire de l’olivier et de ses intrigantes ressources. La visite se poursuivra dans la chapelle romane et provençale de la propriété et dans le moulin, où l’on vous expliquera le travail du “moulinier”, des méthodes ancestrales à celles plus modernes. Enfin, vous profiterez des conseils de dégustations ainsi que d’un cours de cuisine autour de l’huile d’olive.

Dîner en autonomie. Nuit à Saint-Rémy-de-Provence en chambre double.

Jour 5

Fin du séjour

Vous profitez d’un dernier petit-déjeuner à Saint-Rémy-de-Provence avant de poursuivre vers Marseille si vous visez la Méditerranée.
Ici se termine votre séjour en Provence intérieure. A bientôt !

Le prix comprend

L'hébergement en chambre double en chambre d'hôtes de charme ou appart'hotel confort
Les petit-déjeuners du jour 1 au jour 5
Les dîners gastronomiques des jours 1 et 3
Les expériences gastronomiques (déjeuners inclus) et activités culturelles proposées
L'accompagnement privatif ou partagé sur les activités guidées (transport inclus lorsque nécessaire)

ne comprend pas

Les déjeuners et dîners libres
Le transport (sauf sur les activités qui le nécessitent)
Les visites libres, même si mentionnées à titre indicatif le long de l’itinéraire
Boissons, souvenirs, extras et autres dépenses personnelles
Tous les services non mentionnés dans le programme

contact

Ce séjour est proposé par :

L'agence SO PROVENCE SO ALPS

Contactez l’agence

Newsletter!